The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) started off with a blockbuster match between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on 9 April.

Like every year, a total of eight teams representing 8 states of the country are participating in 2021 IPL. Namely - Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore , Delhi Capitals (DC), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Punjab Kings.

All eight teams will battle it out against each other during the league phase. Each side will play a total of 14 games before they can qualify for the playoffs. The top four teams at the end of the league phase will qualify for the playoffs.

Mumbai Indians have been the most successful IPL team with five trophy wins followed by CSK who have three crowns in their bag. KKR have won the league two times while SRH and RR have won a title each.